INFORMATION ABOUT INGREDIENTS ON FOODS, TOOTHPASTE, SOAP ETC.
We hope that this information will be of great use to you and that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company. They have been very helpful in providing the requested information.
CONSULTATION OF COMPANIES
Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.
1. L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:
No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL
2. Burger King Corporation:
Shortening used in from swine = HARAM
Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM
Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM
Because you are not sure.
Shakes = HALAL
3. General Goods:
Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM
4. Knox Gelatin Inc.:
Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM
5. American Lecithin Company:
Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL
A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL
7. General Mills Inc.:
Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM
(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)
8. Quaker Oats:
Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.
A. Derived from pork or other animal
7. Shortening (animal).
B. Avoid - doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable):
3. Dough conditioners
4. Mono and diglycerides
5. Enzymes or rennet in cheese
C. You can use: HALAL
2. Soybean lecithin
3. Vegetable lecithin
4. Vegetable shortening
5. Vegetable mono and diglyceriders
6. Vegetable enzymes or rennetless cheese.
D. Avoid may contain alcohol
1. Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings
E. When you see these letters:
"U" or "K" they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.
AVOID THE FOLLOWING AS THEY MAY CONTAIN ALCOHOL:
Artificial and Imitation extracts and Flavorings.
MISCELLANEOUS FOOD ITEMS
BREAD AND PASTRY
FROZEN PIZZA PIES
Making of pizza is not according to SHARIAH.
NOTE: Calf (plural = calves): a young cow or bull.
* NOTE: The Sheep/Beef that is obtained for the products is not slaughtered Islamically, hence, it is still doubtful.
NOTE: Contains alcohol; still in doubt about its use.
LIST OF HALAL AND HARAM FOOD INGREDIENTS
Please check the ingredients of every food brand, which you use. Also check any or all-new products you use before making your purchase. If you have any doubts, you may write or phone to the manufacturer, so far they have been very helpful to us and it will put your mind at ease.
Home - Quran & Hadith – Charity - Family & Health – Islam – Miscellaneous – Matrimonials
Human Rights - Women – Newscenter – Boycott – Chechnya – Palestine - Links